Product detail

Waking Engine

Waking Engine

Author: David Edison
$11.99(AUD)  inc GST
save $3.00(AUD) (20%) $14.99(AUD)
Available Stock: 0
Description
Contrary to popular wisdom, death isn't the end, nor a passage to some transcendent afterlife. Those who die merely awake as themselves on one of million worlds, where they live until they die again, and wake up somewhere new. All are born only once - but die many times - until they come to the City Unspoken, where True Death can be found. The City is home to murderous aristocrats, disguised gods and goddesses, a sadistic faerie princess, immortal prostitutes and queens, a captive angel, gangs of feral Death Boys and Charnel Girls...and one confused New Yorker. Late of Manhattan, Cooper finds himself in a City that is not what it once was. The gateway to True Death is failing, so the City is overrun by the Dying...and a spreading madness threatens to engulf the entire metaverse.
Promotion info
A stunning debut fantasy in the tradition of China Mieville and Jeff VanderMeer.
Reviews
"This debut fantasy is a fever dream of vivid imagery and dark luscious prose, reminiscent of China Mieville in its byzantine, steampunk-influenced cityscape." --"Library Journal," starred review "Edison breaks some new ground here, and even when he's in familiar territory, he finds his own way of exploring it. An impressive debut." --"Booklist" "Intensely descriptive and detailed, "The Waking Engine" will spur readers' imaginations." --"RT Bookreviews" "Highly original, beautifully weird, deeply immersive, "The Waking Engine" is a storming debut and a fantasy guaranteed to trip you out." --Adam Christopher, author of "Empire State" and "The Burning Dark""""A novel of gigantic--nay, cosmic--ideas, brought down to earth by witty characters and a delightfully clueless everyman protagonist. Universal apocalypses don't come any bigger, or more entertaining."--Alex Bledsoe, author of "The Hum and the Shiver""""David Edison makes his debut with a novel of great creativity and richness. There's nothing small about this story, from its remarkable premise to its cast of splendidly mad characters and its complex, beautifully realized world. I can't wait for the next volume."--Delia Sherman, author of "The Freedom Maze"
Author description
DAVID EDISON divides his time between New York City and San Francisco. "The Waking Engine" is his first novel.
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780765370112
  • : Tor Books
  • : Tor Books
  • : June 2015
  • : 171mm X 106mm X 30mm
  • : United States
  • : June 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 813.6
  • : 496
  • : David Edison